Food Safety Certification

Red Seal certification assures the buyer that their purchased products were handled, produced, packaged and stored at a facility where practices are consistent with a minimum of 21 CFR Section 110 (current Good Manufacturing Practices) and HACCP/Risk based methodologies.

Each Red Seal Member facility must demonstrate that their Food Safety programs are documented and implemented according to Codex Alimentarius and the National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria of Foods (NACMCF) guidelines, verified by an authorized food safety auditor of the association, or have been certified to a Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) standard by an authorized certification body. The required Food Safety practices detailed in these standards are among the best in the food industry.

Facility Requirements

  1. Meet one of the two pathway requirements shown below.
  2. Maintain a minimum of an 1800 score on Tri-annual Member GMP/Food Safety audits.

Pathways to Qualification

GFSI Certification

Choose one:

DFA HACCP/Food Safety Verified

Member GMP Audit (score 1800+)

Other Audit
DFA HACCP/Food Safety Verified
1 GMP Member Audit
(score 1800+)
2 GMP Member Audits
(score 1800+)
Red Seal Qualification

Next Steps

Upon completing the food safety certification requirements of the Red Seal Program, DFA members are considered “Red Seal Qualified,” and can begin packing Red Seal Product.